Six Wisconsin Colleges Mark Smokeout with One-Day Campus Smoking Bans

More than 1,577 campuses nationwide have a 100 percent smoke- or tobacco-free policy in place, and six Wisconsin campuses are joining that list—at least for one day. Marquette University, UW-Whitewater, UW-La Crosse, and Wisconsin Indianhead Technical Colleges in Ashland, New Richmond, and Rice Lake are taking a 1Day Stand on November 19, 2015 for the Great American Smokeout. They’re working with Spark, a program that supports such efforts with resources and technical assistance.

It’s the local angle on a national campaign through the Tobacco-Free College Campus Initiative.

Not only will that clear the air for young nonsmokers in Wisconsin, but supporters hope it will inspire students, faculty, and campus workers to quit tobacco use—the leading preventable cause of death in the United States. According to the CDC, the smoking rate among adults with some college training (no diploma) is 20.9%, slightly above the rate for all adults (17.8%).

Those who want to quit can get free medications and coaching by calling the Wisconsin Tobacco Quit Line at 1-800-QUIT-NOW (1-800-784-8669) or visiting

Twenty-four college campuses in Wisconsin have permanent tobacco-free policies, including:

  • Alverno College
  • Bellin College of Nursing
  • Carroll University
  • Chippewa Valley Technical College (7 sites)
  • Fox Valley Technical College (6 sites)
  • Gateway Technical College (3 sites)
  • Herzing University – East Campus
  • Madison College (5 sites)
  • Maranatha Baptist University
  • Marian University (3 sites)
  • Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Milwaukee Area Technical College (4 sites)
  • Moraine Park Technical College (5 sites)
  • Nicolet Area Technical College
  • Northcentral Technical College
  • University of Wisconsin-Baraboo/Sauk County
  • University of Wisconsin-River Falls
  • University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
  • University of Wisconsin-Stout
  • University of Wisconsin-Washington County
  • Waukesha County Technical College (3 sites)
  • Western Technical College (6 sites)
  • Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College – Superior
  • Viterbo University

Twenty-five colleges in Wisconsin are working with Spark on tobacco initiatives on campus. They include:

  • Cardinal Stritch University
  • Carroll University
  • Concordia University Wisconsin
  • Madison College
  • Marquette University*
  • Milwaukee Area Technical College
  • St. Norbert College
  • UW-Baraboo/Sauk County
  • UW-Eau Claire*
  • UW-La Crosse*
  • UW-Madison*
  • UW-Manitowoc
  • UW-Milwaukee
  • UW-Oshkosh
  • UW-Platteville
  • UW-River Falls*
  • UW-Sheboygan
  • UW-Stevens Point
  • UW-Stout
  • UW-Superior
  • UW-Whitewater*
  • WITC-Ashland*
  • WITC-New Richmond*
  • WITC-Rice Lake*
  • WITC-Superior*

* Receiving a Spark mini-grant in 2015-2016 school year

Over the course of an academic year, schools with Spark mini-grants work toward or maintain a tobacco-free campus policy and educate the campus community through presentations about other tobacco products.

The Wisconsin Tobacco Quit Line, established in May of 2001, is managed by the University of Wisconsin Center for Tobacco Research and Intervention (UW-CTRI) and is funded by the Wisconsin Department of Health Services.