2008 Guideline Update Panelists, Liaisons and Staff

Guideline Panel
Michael C. Fiore, MD, MPH (Panel Chair)
Carlos Roberto Jaén, MD, PhD, FAAFP (Panel Vice Chair)
Timothy B. Baker, PhD (Senior Scientist)
William C. Bailey, MD, FACP, FCCP
Neal L. Benowitz, MD
Susan J. Curry, PhD
Sally Faith Dorfman, MD, MSHSA
Erika S. Froelicher, RN, MA, MPH, PhD
Michael G. Goldstein, MD

Cheryl G. Healton, DrPH
Patricia Nez Henderson, MD, MPH

Richard B. Heyman, MD
Howard K. Koh, MD, MPH, FACP
Thomas E. Kottke, MD, MSPH
Harry A. Lando, PhD
Robert E. Mecklenburg, DDS, MPH
Robin J. Mermelstein, PhD
Patricia Dolan Mullen, DrPH
C. Tracy Orleans, PhD
Lawrence Robinson, MD, MPH
Maxine L. Stitzer, PhD
Anthony C. Tommasello, PharmBS, PhD
Louise Villejo, MPH, CHES
Mary Ellen Wewers, PhD, RN, MPH

Guideline Liaisons
Tina Murray, M.A.S., RN, (Project Officer), Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
Glenn Bennett, MPH, CHES, National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute
Stephen Heishman, PhD, National Institute on Drug Abuse
Corinne Husten, MD, MPH, United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Glen Morgan, PhD, National Cancer Institute
Christine Williams, M.Ed, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Guideline Staff
Bruce A. Christianson, PhD (Project Director)
Megan E. Piper, PhD (Project Scientist)
Victor Hasselblad, PhD (Project Statistician)
David Fraser, MS (Project Coordinator)
Wendy Theobald, PhD (Editorial Associate)
Michael Connell, BS (Database Manager)
Cathlyn Leitzke, MSN, RN-C (Project Researcher)

Lead Agencies
The 2008 guideline 2008 is led by a consortium of eight organizations:

  1. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
  2. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  3. National Cancer Institute
  4. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
  5. National Institute on Drug Abuse
  6. American Legacy Foundation
  7. Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  8. University of Wisconsin Center for Tobacco Research and Intervention